Well…am I?

Recently, someone asked me a question. I can’t say I didn’t expect it. I asked her the same question first. But when she asked, I was not prepared to answer. I went off on a rant about things I hate and probably made myself seem pretty pathetic. That question was “are you happy?”

Now that I have had time to think about it, the answer is yes. The short answer, anyway. The long answer is ‘yes but…’

The thing about human nature is that we are programmed to want more than we have. Its not always just physical things, either. Physically speaking, I have everything I need and nearly everything I want. Even someday when I do have everything I want, I will always have that nagging desire for more. Even if I cannot name a single item shich could improve my life, give me more, more, more.

Emotionally, I have already crossed that line. There is nothing in the world that could help my life be better. I have the best friends, the best family you could ever get. A girlfriend who I love and who loves me. And forever I want more. I already don’t have time enough to spend with the people I care about, what good is more? If anything, more people taking up my time would just make life harder…less happy…

If ‘are you happy?’ Is asking whether more things, tangible or not, monetary value or not, would improve my life, the answer is no – I have all the things and I am happy.

If the question implies ‘are you satisfied with the things you have?’ I don’t know. This is the question I was asking, and the question I was not prepared to answer. But even if I had more things, better things, different things, I dont think I would be satisfied. No matter what, more, more, more.

Standard

Leave a Reply

