Day 3 – COLD FEET

Today I began having doubts over how much I really want to spend more than this month out here. It’s not that I don’t like it. I really do. But I have left so much behind at home, plus it may just be easier to keep what I have than to pick up and start over in a new area. I always have been saying that the worst case was that I would have a month-long vacation. Maybe that’s also the best case. I have not decided yet and it has not had an affect yet on my job search.

Today I went shopping with Grandma. During the course of our day, two grocery stores, a gas station, and Hometown Buffet. We drove all around, looked at potential places for me to apply for. Like I said, I don’t yet plan to try less hard because of this. It may just be a phase. Or maybe I will go home. I just am taking every day by itself. This has been a wonderful opportunity to clear my head and just relax.

If I do go back immediately after this month is over, I have begun considering an alternate route home. The fact is, there is no way in hell that I will drive back through that desert. Which means that I’ll be taking I-5 as far south as Sacremento. If I do that, I am considering going a few more hours south to two of my uncles and their families. Then, why not go a few more hours south to two more aunts and an uncle and all their families?

That’s all speculation of course. I may stay. I may find that the hours/gas cost is too much and blaze right through Sacramento into Salt Lake.

There is one thing I know I will never stop missing, though: pumping my own gas. Seriously, Oregon, why are you so damned backwards about that?

Standard

One thought on “Day 3 – COLD FEET

  1. They banned pumping your own gas as a way to provide more jobs to people.

    Economically though, it still doesn’t make sense, as those people could be more efficiently employed elsewhere, raising real wages slightly in the process.

Leave a comment